It Happened Again

Last night before I fell asleep I saw something that caught my eye “Vikings and Patriots close to a deal for Randy Moss”.  Immediately I had two thoughts, this must be making Viking fans down right giddy, and Bill Belichick must be trying to get Moss motivated.  I never thought this was going to happen.  Why would New England trade a guy that makes the offense so much better, even when he isn’t catching passes?  New England is a legitimate Super Bowl contender.  I know his contract is up after the season, but don’t you have to make a run at the championship? I’ll finish my thoughts on New England in a minute, but as usual I need to tie the Redskins into this.

The trade became official at some point this afternoon, and sure enough Moss was a Viking again (I think it’s cool anytime a superstar athlete returns to where he became a star).  The thing that really got me going was when I saw the Vikings got the future Hall of Famer for, wait for it, a third round draft pick.  WHAT?  I immediately think what the Redskins biggest need at the moment is, and it just happens to be a big wide receiver.  Don’t get me wrong I know there are plenty of reasons why the Skins wouldn’t make this move.  For starters I’d be shocked if they had a third round pick, and Moss like McNabb is a free agent to be.  I don’t care.  He has an attitude issue, and he doesn’t run his routes hard every single play, I don’t care.  He’s always been considered a bit of a risk, but he’s done that to the tune of 935 receptions, 14,604 yards, and 151 touchdowns.  These numbers are staggering.  I’m 32 years old and in my lifetime you put Randy Moss behind only one other wide receiver….Jerry Rice.  Donovan McNabb is the perfect QB for a guy like Moss.  McNabb is a team leader on the field and in the locker room.  Moss was great when he had Chris Carter by his side, and I feel McNabb is that same type of presence.  The offense is totally different if you say Moss, Moss, Cooley, and Fred Davis than it is currently with Santana Moss, Armstrong or Galloway, Cooley, and Davis.

The fact of the matter is it’s not only the Redskins that you have to wonder about, it’s about 15 teams in the NFL.  Why would the Bears, Colts, Titans, Eagles, 49ers, Falcons, Seahawks, Steelers, Chargers, and Redskins not trade away a 3rd round pick for him?  I know there are reasons, but to me the risk is well worth the reward.  The reason I am fired up about this is because trades like this happen in the NFL somewhat regularly, and I’m always left shaking my head.  Anquan Boldin was traded from Arizona to Baltimore for a 3rd and a 4th round pick.  Boldin was a rookie of the year, a 3 time pro bowler, and all around stud with the football in his hands.  The Dolphins got Brandon Marshall for two second round picks.  Marshall is one of only 5 players in league history to catch 100 balls in each of his first three seasons.  I know a lot of teams that can use a top of the line, game changing wide receiver, and isn’t a few picks worth it?

Moss now joins Favre on a Vikings offense that is only a few weeks away from having Sidney Rice back.  Moss, Rice, and Harvin is a disgusting trio of receivers, and oh by the way, they happen to have the best running back in the NFL.  We’ll see how it works but I imagine a lot of teams might regret not offering a 2nd rounder for Moss.  From a personal standpoint if he blows up maybe it will encourage the Redskins to offer the 2 second rounders for Vincent Jackson that the Chargers are asking before someone else swoops in and gets him cheap.

I have to finish by at least acknowledging the Patriots side of the equation even if I don’t agree with it.  You got 3 great years out of Moss and ended up getting more for him than you gave up to get him.  You now have two picks in each of the first three rounds which is great, and he is a 33 year old soon to be free agent.  I understand it, but I’d rather try to win the Super Bowl with the best players I have on the field.  Even with a great QB and coach other good players are needed, and Moss is a great one.

~ by tuben4 on October 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
