A Quick Thought

When Sports Daggers was still being thought up one of the main reasons I thought my ramblings would be somewhat interesting was the fact that here in Washington DC we have two all sports radio stations that both pretty much stink.  The thing with sports radio, and I imagine this happens everywhere  is that the people that call the shows represent about 1% of all the “true” fans of any given team.  Don’t get me wrong I listen to both stations pretty regularly, but it’s not because I feel like the callers, and even hosts in some cases know anything about sports.  I don’t particularly like Albert Haynesworth or his actions, but let’s be honest.  Players skip voluntary workouts all the time.  I understand that in a perfect world everyone would spend every off season in or around DC, but that’s not the way it goes.  I don’t want to bring up the most popular Redskin in the last 10 years, but Sean Taylor regularly choose not to attend these voluntary workouts.  Don’t get me wrong if the Redskins traded Haynesworth or even released him I wouldn’t shed a tear, but it will not be because of this.  All week I’ve been listening to fans call in and talk like skipping voluntary workouts is on the same level as what Big Ben did in Georgia a few weeks back.  Haynesworth was a headache last year, but you know what, he was a beast when he was on the field.  When John Riggins was holding out during training camp should the team have traded him?  Don’t let this meaningless issue cloud your judgment.  If Albert does what he says he’ll do, he’ll be in camp by the time he has to be.

I won’t even get into the local radio scene when it comes to the Nats because if I did, I’d have to inform you that the hosts jawing away DON’T EVEN WATCH THE GAMES.  You think Lavar Arrington can name a single pitcher in the Nats rotation?  I’ll answer that for you, no.

Like I said I actually listen to these two stations, and I would even recommend the Junkies on 106.7 or TK on 980 for pure entertainment.  If you do want good sports radio I would recommend the John Thompson Show with Doc Walker on ESPN980 every afternoon.  If all you care about is the Redskins than Lavar’s show isn’t an awful option, but I prefer Brian Mitchell when he is on Saturdays on 106.7 fm.  Just do yourself a favor and don’t expect the people that call into these shows to bring anything to the table.

~ by tuben4 on May 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “A Quick Thought”

  1. Bring back Ken Beatrice. Beyond the astonishing recall of facts, his hilarious inability to concede that he made a mistake and the finest commercial endorsement ever made (“I don’t eat them myself, but I hear they’re very good”), he never suffered a fool gladly. I am fulfilling my role as old guy, best exemplified by Royal Broughm of the Seattle Post Intelligencer, who in his last years turned out a daily column that would start with the hot topic of the day but digress into a rememberance of the 1953 battle between the Johnny O’Brien led Seattle Chiefs versus the Bob Houbregs led Washington Huskies. He was still sharp enough to remember that Johnny and his brother Eddie went on to Major League careers with the Pirates and would tell you so each day. And that the Chiefs were the only team ever to beat the Harlem Globetrotters.

  2. Lavar Arrington has a radio show in DC? Is he that eloquent and interesting to host a Redskins specific show? I doubt it. Plus, he used to date Serena Williams…which I’ve always equated to man-on-man action. Gross.

Leave a Reply

 
