March Madness is a Roller Coaster Ride

In most sports life is easy.  You have a team, and you root for them through the good and the bad.  College basketball is the one sport where I cannot live by this simple sports rule.  I don’t know whether it’s because I didn’t go to a college with any type of sports or because I live in an area where there is so much good basketball, but I have a few teams that I root for with everything I have in me.

Yesterday was one of the best days I have experienced during the tournament in the 25 plus years that I have watched it.  Yesterday had everything you can hope for.  There was a huge upset when Northern Iowa ruined almost everyone’s brackets by upsetting the number one overall seed Kansas.  This game had it all, and the shocking conclusion came when Northern Iowa guard Ali Farokhmanesh drained a 3 pointer that would have had his teams fans scratching their heads had it not gone in.  The insanity that was that game wiped poor St. Mary’s completely out of the headlines.  Earlier in the day the tenth seeded Gaels knocked off second seeded Villanova in another pretty big surprise.

As great as watching the upsets was I enjoyed yesterday even more when one of the teams I root for, Washington beat New Mexico to make it to the sweet 16.  This game wasn’t even close as the Huskies continued to shake up bracket pools all over the country.  As I went to bed last night I was thinking, Did all of this really happen today?  I got to hang out with a bunch of my friends, eat bar food, and watch upsets, buzzer beaters, and one of my teams roll on.  I should have known.

Today started with Dempsey leaving, and didn’t get any better from there.  Don’t get me wrong there were some great games today, including the one that hurt my insides.  As you probably guessed from my post a week or so ago I am a Maryland supporter, and have grown very fond of this years senior class.  They battled back from a double digit deficit, and even took the lead on yet another great shot by Grevis Vasquez.  This time it wasn’t enough.  Michigan State nailed a 3 pointer at the buzzer to lift the Spartans, and break a lot of hearts in the DC Metro area.  For a few minutes, maybe even an hour I didn’t want to watch anymore basketball.  The high of the near perfect Saturday followed by the low of being on the wrong side of a buzzer beater was a lot in one weekend.  This is what sports is, it’s what March Madness is, and whether it’s yesterday or today it’s why we watch and root for the teams we do.  Today was rough, but Thursday night Washington plays West Virginia with a change to finally get to the elusive elite eight.  It could happen, couldn’t it?  I’ll be watching and hoping.

~ by tuben4 on March 22, 2010.

One Response to “March Madness is a Roller Coaster Ride”

  1. There’s always a debate on whether it’s more painful to be blown out or lose at the last second. Turns out the most painful is both.

Leave a Reply

 
